On Breakthroughs

So often I am seeking some sort of breakthrough.

It’s like I want to believe that if I do the work eventually I will wake up a different person with absolutely no problems. Or at least much fewer problems. Or maybe different, easier problems.

I want to be able to look at yesterday, last week, last month, last year, and say “aha, that is the moment everything changed.”

I realized something this morning though.

Breakthroughs are relative.

When I first read 10% Happier by Dan Harris, I imagined that if I started meditating I would suddenly become this zen calm person. I didn’t think it would happen on day 1. I don’t even think I expected it to happen with in the year. But it was an expectation.

Well since I read that book, I have started and stopped meditating many times.

I’m proud to say that I’ve meditated every day for a month as of today.

And today I had a breakthrough.

I didn’t suddenly understand everything.

I haven’t forgiven everyone (myself included) or accepted everything (myself included).

But for the first time in a week I was able to keep my mind calm for more than one breath cycle.

And that is a huge breakthrough.

Because I could have quit.

Every day for the past week when I sat down and tried to breathe and my mind kept racing.

I could have quit.

But I didn’t.

I chose to sit down every day.

And today I finally found some peace.

And that is a breakthrough in and of itself.

Leave a Reply

