Beautiful Words, pt. 10

Mindfulness has been haunting me. It keeps showing up in books, at work, on podcasts.

It’s like the universe is kindly reminding me what I should be doing. I should be meditating. I should be listening. I should be present.

I could write a bunch of cheesy lines here about how the present is a gift, or the present is all we really have. I could throw a bunch of science at you. Studies showing how grey matter increases with meditation. Studies that show that meditation decreases anxiety and depression.

I’m not going to do that, but it’s out there, read it.

My favorite thing nowadays, the thing that puts a smile on my face, is hearing children being taught about mindfulness early on in life.

I listened to a podcast today, Unfictional. One of the stories was interviewing a teacher out in California who teacher the kids in her class how to navigate life through the great tool of mindfulness – breathing. Listening to kids sing about their center put a smile on my face.

I had the same response a few weeks back, reading Wildwood by Colin Meloy. Mindfulness is a tool used by the sages in the book, and at one point the leader tells the main character in the book:

“It’s better to live presently. By living thus, perhaps we can learn to understand the nature of this fragile coexistence we share with the world around us.”

And so, I keep practicing being present. I try to meditate daily, and when I fail, I start again.

A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to attend a Search Inside Yourself Leadership Institute training. They explained meditation as the act of realizing your mind has wandered, and bringing your focus back to the breath.

I have noticed that I am more gentle with myself since then. More lenient. More understanding.

Leave a Reply

