Assume Good Intent, Follow Up

The other day, I wrote about challenging ourselves to assume that other people mean well. But I realized, I often question my own intent too.

I think this is the result of a deeply set self-doubt. For many reasons, which I may get into on here some day, I have no faith in myself. And at times that translates into believing that I’m a bad person.

It’s kind of a strange thing, really.

Sometimes it gets so bad that I cry at the kindness of strangers. My feelings are a mix of appreciation and fear, if only they knew my inherent badness, they would not be so kind.

I often wonder if, while I have good intentions in the forefront, there is some nefarious goal hiding behind it. I don’t know why I think I can fool myself so well. But this happens more often than I care to admit (she says, admitting it).

So now I pose a challenge for myself, and any of my readers who struggle with this, to assume our own best intent as well.

See how this changes your world.

See how assuming you are a good and decent person changes your perspective.

See how assuming you are deserving of what you want most (be it a fulfilling career, a supportive partnership, a doctorate degree, etc.) changes your life!

 

Leave a Reply

