The Mention of an Otter

The mention of an otter
Can apparently bring me to tears;
Bring me to a place
Where Peter is the one again.
All because he knew
I love otters,
And loved that I love otters,
And didn’t think I was weird,
And bought me an otter birthday card.
That was technically an otter thank you card.
And even when we weren’t together,
He sent me otter-centric videos.
All this
at the mention of an otter.
That otter is the closest thing that came
To sharing my deepest weirdest self.
And he loved the otter-loving me.

Leave a Reply

