Clothes Clothes Clothes

This week I suddenly realized that my second capsule season is almost over. Considering how painful my first capsule felt, I’m in awe of how smoothly this one went. I’ll be honest, I didn’t stick to my capsule 100% these three months because I spent 10 days at the end of May in New Orleans, and the weather there was a tad different from the Portland weather that I had planned the capsule around (although after we returned Portland decided to brace us with a heat wave so those clothes I pulled out of storage came in mighty handy).

For my trip to New Orleans I did buy two new pairs of shorts mostly because a lot of my old shorts don’t fit me well (physically and stylistically) right now. Other than those, I stuck entirely to things I already owned. But those two purchases made me realize something: I shouldn’t feel guilty about buying new pieces for my capsules.

While it’s true that a big reason that I’m doing my capsules is for minimalistic purposes, I’m also doing them to gain a sense of my own style and I know that’s changed a lot over the years (about as much as my size has change over the years…). Both sizing and styling are perfectly good reasons to buy new pieces. You want pieces that make you feel awesome, and that’s not gonna happen if something is tight, loose, or makes you feel like you’re in high school again!

What the capsule mentality has helped prevent is my going and buying a bunch of pieces out of boredom, without any thought put into them. For example, when I went shopping for New Orleans I knew I was looking for a specific style of shorts. I didn’t need any new tops. I wasn’t looking for new pants. I wasn’t bored and just shopping to pass the time. I went in with a purpose and came out with three pairs of shorts (two of which were promptly returned).

The truth is, I think capsule wardrobes are much easier when you already have a really well-defined style. But I think they are also a great tool for when you’re searching for that style as well. Since you can only play with so many pieces every capsule, you’re really forced to choose the trends you want to try, and that forces you to put more thought into your decisions. Instead of trying ALL the current trends (which would be expensive and exhausting) you choose to try one or two or three.

I’m slowly working on building my third capsule. I have a feeling it’ll be a few days late because I have lots of time off around the 4th this year. In my process I will be looking through all the summer things I already own. But I already know there are a couple of trends I’d like to try that aren’t in my storage boxes at the moment. I think summer will be my most fun wardrobe but also my most challenging since my summer wardrobe might not necessarily be the most work appropriate one. But another work on “appropriate” dress later. Til then, Happy Summer Solstice (fun fact! this is the first time since 1948 that the summer solstice corresponds with a full moon)!

Leave a Reply

