Recent Recipes

I’ve tried a few new recipes this week, and since cooking and trying new recipes is one of my favorite pass-times, I thought I’d start sharing those recipes, and my opinions of them, with you!

This week I tried # new recipes: Chicken Avocado Soup, Chicken with Tomato Butter Sauce, Avocado Caprese Chicken, and Golden Beet Arroz con Pollo. I have to say, happily, that all of these recipes were successful! Which is especially wonderful since all, but the last, were eaten by company and not just me alone!

Chicken Avocado Soup

The Chicken Avocado soup was quick, easy, and very flavorful. I know for a fact that there are a lot of similar recipes out there, and I can’t say I’ve tried any others, but if you want to be sure you’re making a good one, I’d say pick this one for sure! I made this soup while boy’s roommate was making (delicious looking) tater-tot waffles for his group’s team breakfast the following day. As in the kitchen was a mess, and my presence didn’t help. Still I was able to cook this easily in just one pot!

*Sorry I have no photos of my soup, I was too hungry to take a picture. Sometimes a girl just wants to eat without memorializing it!

Chicken with Tomato Butter Sauce

My second recipe this week was from Pinch of Yum, a sight I have visited often but for some reason never tried a dish from! Thanks to my awesome new pal, I finally got to try one of these recipes when we made dinner together! This was both of our first times pounding chicken (random fact?). It was also our first time cooking together! With the exception of putting the pasta in too early (fresh pasta cooks in under 5 minutes…oops), I’d say it was a huge success. We only used half the butter and it was still awesome. But if you’re so incline, use all the butter, or more! I’m sure it’d be delicious.

*OK now that I’m aware that I will be making these posts, I will try to be more diligent about taking pictures of my food. But I was a guest in someone’s home. It would have been rude to just pull out my phone and take a picture of the dish. Even though we served them in these perfect shallow bowls that my friend has. I love eating everything out of bowls!

Avocado Caprese Chicken

Recipe three was a lesson for boy. He is learning how to cook! And I am a terrible teacher because apparently I’m a control-freak in the kitchen and just end up taking over. Luckily, this was pointed out to me very gently and kindly, which resulted in a deliciously cooked meal. The highlight of this dish was the spice mix used on the chicken. It was super flavorful and really made an impact on first bite! The one area of trouble we had with the dish was keeping the stacks together. Not sure if there is a trick. We kind of just reformed them on the plate. Where they kept collapsing anyway. If you want to forego buying balsamic glaze (cause it isn’t cheap and who knows when you’ll use it) you can try reducing your own balsamic vinegar with some spices in it. If you do this, do not let the reduction cool, it will turn into the stickiest mess you have ever witnessed in your kitchen. You could also just drizzle balsamic vinegar over the stack. I had some fig balsamic on hand and it was definitely a delicious finishing touch!

*I probably could just leave these out since I don’t seem to have any pictures, but now I’m just enjoying writing these!

Golden Beet Arroz con Pollo

Finally, recipe four of the week was a spiralizing recipe! I have been eating zucchini noodles since 2010! Haha, to be honest, I ate zucchini noodles approximately two times in the summer of 2010 when I decided to try eating only raw foods for a week. This lasted approximately 1.5 days. The most delicious thing I ate were  zucchini ribbons with this red pepper sauce. This was before spiralizing became a big shtick.

I started with zucchini noodles again (and bought a hand held zoodler) about a two years ago. I mainly made them as a nest for my eggs for weekend brunches. I’d sautee them in bacon fat, then top with pepper, crushed red pepper, and some good Italian cheese. They were cheesy, spicy, and delicious.

This year I’ve tried many more zoodle recipes. After going on the Inpiralized site more times than I care to count, I decided to take the plunge and buy a counter-top spiralizer when I tried making rutabaga noodles with my handheld one and wound up wasting about a third of the rutabaga. I also wound up with very sore forearms. Oh well…

This arroz con pollo was the first dish I made with my countertop spiralizer. To be honest, I was really worried it would be really difficult to use, but it was super easy (and no one paid me or gave me free products to say this by the way)!

This dish was honestly beautiful to make. Spiralizing the golden beet created these gorgeous ribbons that contrasted really nicely with my red dishware. Then the peppers and spices brought even more color to the plate. The spice mix for the chicken smelled awesome and gave the chicken a delicious taste with hints of sweetness from the paprika and chili powder.

The only downside to this dish was the cost of the golden beets. And it was only a downside because rice would be way cheaper. I still think the recipe is on point and you could probably adapt this for rice cause the spices are really wonderful. But if for some reason you’re not eating rice (which I am eating by the way…I was just fascinated by this recipe) then this is a cool alternative. My mind kind of associates yellow rice with a lot of flavor and with the spice mix this totally lives up to that association. It’s also texturally much more satisfying than any cauliflower rice I’ve had to date.

 

Leave a Reply

