Work Satisfaction

At my first ever internship at Boeing Commercial as a sophomore (yeah, I’m proud, suck it), I had an incredibly kind manager. She was one of the few female manager I ever had actually. Once when we went out for lunch, just the two of us, she told me that happiness at work relies on two major things. Her statement has come back to me again and again in the years since then, and I still thing it holds a lot of merit.

Those two major things are your work and your coworkers. She told me the following: she said if you’re happy with your work and your coworkers you should consider yourself very lucky. She said if you’re happy with either your job or your coworkers that’s not too bad either. But, once you’re happy with neither, that’s when you should start looking for work. Why do I think this is so true?

Well, if you’re doing something you’re really passionate about (aka you’re happy with your work), you’re gonna hop out of bed excited to go to work most days. If you love the people you work with, you’re gonna hop out of bed excited to go see your coworkers most days (which requires going to work). If you’ve got both, I don’t even know how you stay in bed when that alarm clock goes off. Maybe you don’t even need an alarm clock. You’re a lucky bastard (I mean that lovingly and mostly enviously, but with lots of love). If you’ve got neither, then what drives you to get out of bed in the morning? If you say money, and if that really keeps you going, then good for you. You probably have more discipline than most. But the truth of the matter is, most of us spend at least 8 hours a day at our jobs, at least half of our days are filled with doing our work and talking to our coworkers, if you’re not happy, acknowledge it and do something about it.

Don’t get up and quit now. Just because you’ve realized something doesn’t mean you have to act on it right away. But you are allowed to start looking for work elsewhere if you’re unhappy. Don’t feel guilty. Odds are if your job isn’t fulfilling you, you aren’t doing the best work you could be doing. Odds are, most employers want their workers to be happy (and if yours doesn’t, then I would seriously consider leaving if I were you).

So yeah. If you’re trying to measure your work satisfaction, that’s my two cents. If not, feel free to ignore me.

Til next time!

Leave a Reply

