Book 8: More Like a Poetry Anthology

For my 8th book I picked up another YA work, The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan.

9279177

This book was a really interesting take on a story about a romantic relationship. It was a super quick read that was super enjoyable. The one thing I couldn’t quite figure out this entire book was if it was the same narrarator the whole time. Some poems or definitions were clearly related. But I read a few and really felt that the second member of the partnership must be writing them.

The other thing that was unclear was who was in the relationship. Was it a traditional heterosexual relationship? Two men? Two women? This is an essential part of this book. Firstly, it allows any reader to insert myself into the story. Secondly, I find it demonstrates that love can happen between any two people, regardless of gender, race, age, and other factors.

As an aside, I wanted to talk about something else. Last week a friend asked me if I’d read any good books recently, and I realized I hadn’t told her about this goal yet. When I told her, she was floored and asked how I found time to read. I told her I made time. This is the thing guys and gals: you have to make time to do what is important to you. Before that you have to figure out what is important to you. For me, this year, I want to spend time reading, working out, with friends, and outdoors. That doesn’t mean I won’t feel like doing other things at times, but I hope the majority of my year is spent doing these four things.

Leave a Reply

