Book 6: The Best Thus Far

So I’m a tenth of the way to my goal of  books in  weeks (little victories!) (also I have a feelig this will increase the sense that time is just flying by…oh well). Being only a tenth of the way there, it seems kind of wasteful to say this is the best one yet, I mean, it’s one of six. Odds were high. But I feel pretty confident in adding this will likely remain in the top 5 even after 50 more books. And be one of the more impactful books I read this year.

16143347

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (yes same author as book 4) was one of the most hauntingly beautiful books I’ve ever read. I have so many thoughts on it that I’m just goin to give each one a paragraph and succumb to the fact that this entry will make very little sense.

Firstly, I’m always scared to give high praise to anything, not because I’m worried people will disagree with my opinion, but because I know that raising people’s expectations is a dangerous thing. Go too far, and nothing could live up to what someone expects. Has this happened to you? Someone tells you so many times (or so many people tell you once) that a movie, or show, or book is amazing that by the time you get to seeing or reading it it falls totally flat? If so, stop reading this and go read this book. I’ve already said too much!

This is the first book, prose, novel that I have read that has made me really appreciate someone’s writing style. I, like most of you, discussed style in high school non-stop, but I never fully saw its impact until this novel. It conveys in style every feeling the character is going through and that the reader then feels. I think it makes the whole story that much more impactful.

To be honest, I was really angry, or upset, or frustrated for most of this book. When I had to put it down, I couldn’t stop thinking about it. As soon as I picked it up again, I was still upset, but I felt the calm of being back in its world. I can only imagine this is what taking a hit off something one is addicted to feels like. But I was feeling all these negative feelings because there was so much in the book that was unresolved. I was feeling these things because the narrator was feeling them.

Even if you didn’t like book 4, go read this book. They are nothing at all like each other in my opinion. If I had gone in not knowing authors, I never would have guessed that these books had the same one. So yeah, read it, love it, hate it, share your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

