Book 4: You Don’t Always Have To Be Serious

In stark contrast to Book 3, this book was finished in less than one day. In fact it was finished in about the time it took me to fly from Detroit to Seattle. The Boyfriend List: 15 Guys, 11 Shrink Appointments, 4 Ceramic Frogs and Me was my choice for the fourth book. As I mentioned in my last post, I picked four books up from the library after finishing The Cuckoo’s Calling. Because that book was so difficult, I decided to jump to something I knew would be quick: a young adult book about a teenager and her relationships (both friendly and romantic).

I’m not going to lie, going to the young adult section in the library to pick this book up was kind of weird for me. I mean, depending on exactly how I choose to dress and do my makeup on a given day, I’m pretty sure I could still pass for a high school student (yay?), but I try hard to not liken myself to a teenager because, well, who wants to go to that phase of life?! Still, my goal of 56 books in 56 weeks was calling to me, so I did it. I walked into the young adult section, located the book, took said book, and walked slightly stealthily away. Of course, then I was in the airport reading a book that looked like this, so I think I failed myself nontheless.

301022

Once I got passed caring about what people thought of me (both in terms of being in the YA sections and in terms of holding the above book), I really enjoyed this book. Even though Ruby is a high school student, I still related to her in a lot of ways. I think a lot of our eccentricities are similar (though she’s very different from current me and high school me in many different ways). I’m in one of my first relationships ever right now (yep, made it to 23 with no boyfriends, it’s cool), and a lot of the things I’m finally aware of myself doing, Ruby also does. Ruby kind of deludes herself into thinking that her relationship is good, even though she’s clearly not happy. It seems to me (though I might be projecting here) that she doesn’t want to “rock the boat” by telling her boyfriend when she’s not happy. This is EXACTLY what I did in my first relationship. I would go complain to my friends about something small, and they would tell me that I really should talk to my boyfriend about it, and by the time I got to talking to him I reasoned that it really wasn’t that big a deal, all in all our relationship was great, there’s no reason to potentially start a fight. So yeah, I think I saw a lot of myself in Ruby and I think I felt some kind of affirmation that I wasn’t the only person in the world that did this. Thanks world!

And just a note to thos reading this, sometimes you need to do something silly like read a YA book about high schoolers, or watch the newest Disney movie, or whatever is silly to you. Not every thing you do, book you read, movie you see has to have substance for it to be good. It has to be enjoyed for it to be good.

Happy New Years Eve Day everyone!

Leave a Reply

