The Book That Started It All

On December 1st I joined an amazing accountability group to keep us slightly more healthy going into the holidays. The best part of this group this time was that we set goals that often had nothing to do with our fitness and health.

It was going into the second week of this challenge, when I completed a book I had started less than a week earlier, that I decided to challenge myself to reading one book a week until January 1 of 2016. I have always loved reading, and I have often not made time to read. So in 2015 I’ve decided there are no excuses! A book a week, or at the very least 56 books by January 1 of 2016. At the end of each post in this series I will add that week’s book so as to keep track of the numbers.

Thus, the book that started it all…drumroll please…The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank. How did I come to this book? Why this book to start?

33926

As I said, I didn’t come up with this goal until finishing this book. So it by no way has hugely significant meaning. I found the title on another blog that I often peruse (being new to this blogging world, I’m not clear if there is a protocol to referencing other blogs, so for now, let the motif of vagueness continue).

My feelings towards it are as follows (don’t mind the lack of any grammar rules): “Wow I don’t usually read books that are solely about relationships,” “I can totally relate to this girl in my lack of any understanding of relationships,” “Her brother would really bug me,” “Not loving this relationship with a much older man,” “What’s the deal with this random chapter about someone else,” (SPOILER ALERT) “And of course, in the end, she finds someone who instantly appears to be her soul mate,” “Wait, but really, what is the deal with the random chapter about someone else?!”

All in all, it was an easy read and I enjoyed it. My only issue with it is that, due to some extreme empathy (there’s proabably some more correct word for this), I take on the feelings (and sometimes the dialect or accent) of whatever book I’m reading (or show or movie I’m watching). I kid you not, this is 100% real. I’ve been watching a lot of Gilmore Girls lately and I have noticed my annoyingly witty banter has increased dramatically. It’s harder to pull off when I don’t have an equally witty and bantering counterpart, but hey, I’m the queen of one-sided conversations. Anyway, there was, what I felt, a generally gloomy feel to the book until pretty much the very end. I didn’t love that. It left me feeling dejected and gloomy, happier ending and all.

Oh, and that random chapter, I did some research to see what other readers thought of this chapter. Some, much like me, thought they had imagined it. I really enjoyed one interpretation which said that the chapter was thrown in there to show us how self-absorbed humans can be. The main character of this book is only referenced once in this chapter and it’s a very shallow reference. I kind of liked the idea of this interpretation, mostly because it gave meaning to something that appeared completely random otherwise.

56 Books in 56 Weeks:

  1. The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Banks (12/1/2014-12/6/2014)
1 thought on “The Book That Started It All”

Leave a Reply

