Let Me Explain

For as far back as I can remember, I have mostly been a wallflower – not in the sense that I blend in, but in the sense that I rarely participate in life. Much like Charlie’s teacher tells him in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, “Sometimes people use thought to not participate in life.” I remember when I studied Hamlet my senior year of high school, my teacher used the phrase “paralysis by analysis” to describe how Hamlet was driven to inaction. And man could I relate. I could analyze any choice to death – as in find a way to turn any decision into something that was bound to be tragic. My brother was this way too, but he changed. When I visited him once a few years ago he wanted us all to ride bikes to a restaurant together. I refused because I had never ridden on the street among cars and was scared. He got mad at me, which caught me very off guard, and told me to stop letting my fears hold me back from living. That was a few years ago. I’ve been taking baby steps. I started pushing myself to do new things. Things that made me uncomfortable, but it was a discomfort I knew to be temporary, and I knew once it passed I would feel accomplished. I took risks, and learned to enjoy the moment. I spoke what was on my mind. Not in the mean, brutally honest way I had in high school, but in the genuine, I’m-risking-myself-but-it’s-worth-it kind of way. In that time I traveled to new places, I learned to snowboard, I took up crafts, and I started training for my first race ever, a marathon. In that time I signed up for a Tough Mudder, celebrated my first happy Valentine’s Day, told a boy I really liked him (as childish as that was, it was true, and unfortunately the first time in a while I had said that to someone stone cold sober), and for once was carefree and myself with him. Eventually I got hurt, and I got scared back into being a wallflower. I don’t want to dwell on it, because that is not the point of this blog. The point is, it’s time to participate again. It’s time for all the things I always write about wanting to do to actually happen. So for various reasons and through various activities, I compiled the following list of things I want to accomplish this summer. Every time I accomplish something off the list, I will cross it off and put a date (when accomplished) and link (to its article) next to it. Hopefully this will help keep me accountable, get me writing again, and inspire some other people to just get up and do things! Because really, at the end of the day, we choose whether to stay on the couch watching TV or go on an adventure! So let your actions speak for themselves. Stop just talking about all the things you just want to do, and start doing them!

  • Drive around with the roof down
  • Lay out in the sun and relax after work
  • Go kayaking (6/8/14)
  • Go hiking
  • Visit one of the Great Lakes (6/28/14)
  • Go on a road trip (5/24/14-6/4/14)
  • Run to the beach
  • Explore an outdoor festival
  • Go camping
  • Do something that I was too scared to do last summer (7/5/14)
  • Attend the Dream Cruise
  • Do a pub crawl
  • Go back to Put-In-Bay
  • Go to Cedar Point
  • Visit a National Park
  • Go on an unplanned weekend trip
  • Go to an outdoor concert
  • Do handstands on the beach
  • Go off-roading
  • Develop an appreciation for red wine
  • Wear high-heels out (once a month)
  • Have monthly girl outings
  • Enjoy some sangria by the pool
  • Go on a blind date
  • Go paddle boarding (6/28/14)
  • Do a Painting with a Twist event
  • Create at least one thing off my summer Pinterest baord
  • Go out in downtown Detroit
  • Attend a Tigers game
  • Take Megan to Slow’s
  • Go to a Lions preseason game
  • Attend a book reading/signing
1 thought on “Let Me Explain”

Leave a Reply

